Administration of Jagannath Temple

Since the year of construction of the present Jagannath temple, the kings of Orissa were it's Chief patron. It was under King Anangabhima III(1211-1238 AD), Lord Purusottama Jagannath became the State Deity of the Ganga empire. Like Ganga kings, the kings of the succeeding Surya dynasty made extensive endowments in land and jewelleries for the Deities. The temple flourished under patronage of the independent kings of Orissa till the death of Mukunda Deva, the last independent King of Orissa in 1568 A.D. The system of worship of the Deities and rituals in their present form, have an unbroken tradition over 800 years. Thus maintenance and administration of this great temple is like maintaining a small state within a big state. The foundation of a sound administrative system was laid by the Gajapati King for smooth management of the temple. During the British Rule, the Raja of Puri was appointed as RajaSuperintendent to manage the temple administration. With a view to get better administrative system, the State Government passed " The Puri Shri Jagannath Temple (Administration) Act, 1952 " with provisions to prepare the Record of Rights and duties of Sevayats and such other persons connected with the system of worship and management of the temple. Subsequently a special act known as " Shri Jagannath Temple Act - 1955 " was enacted to reorganise the scheme of management of the affair of the temple and its properties. The Act brought in to force with effect from 27.12.1960. In terms of the provision of this act the management,administration and governance of the temple vests in a committee known as "Shri Jagannath Temple managing committee which consists of the following :
1. Gajapati Maharaja of Puri - Chairman

2. Collector and D.M.,Puri - Vice-Chairman

3. Administrator,Shri Jagannath Temple - Ex-officio-Member

4. Commissioner of Endowments - Ex -officio-member

5. One person to be nominated by the State Government from among the persons entitled to sit on the Muktimandap - Member

6. Four persons to be nominated by the State Government from among the sevaks of the temple - Members

7. One person representing the Mathas and other institutions connected with the Seva Puja or Nities of the temple to be nominated by the State Government.

8. Two persons to be nominated by State Government From among Persons who do not belong to any of the categories i.e. 5,6,and 7 - Member